Board Members

President – David Theak

Jazz saxophonist, educator and band leader. National Jazz Award Finalist (2003), Senior Lecturer in Jazz Studies at the Sydney Conservatorium of Music (2006 – present) and Artistic Director of the Australian National Jazz Orchestra and the Sydney Conservatorium International Jazz Festival (2017 – present).  

Marion Benjamin – Vice President

Principal of her own law firm in Wollongong, Marion’s background includes working in documentary film; teaching in Arts and Humanities at Universities in Perth, Melbourne and Sydney and running a regional not-for-profit community environmental organisation managing over $1.3m in sustainable agriculture and biodiversity projects. A member of SIMA since the mid 1990s, back in the Side On Café days, Marion was also a member of the NSW Jazz Co-ordination Association committee.

Greg Davis – Treasurer
Greg is a Senior Business Analyst / Chartered Accountant, who has worked in several financial, management and logistic roles in Australia and overseas, as a Chief Financial Officer, Senior Business Analyst, Financial Controller, Management Accountant and Project Manager.

He plays Soprano and Tenor Saxophones and is passionate about improvisation music.

Kirstin Kischer – Secretary

A corporate lawyer, with a practising certificate and AICD qualifications and membership, Kirstin has led a consultancy group at Ernst & Young, with a strong focus on the arts.  Now with NSW Transport, she manages a $2.5 billion regional transport program.  She is Secretary also on the Board of Stalker Productions, a multi-arts physical theatre for all ages, operating on a global scale, with a leading edge in the use of immersive and interactive digital arts.   

Jackson Harrison

Solicitor and practitioner in commercial law, specialising in Copywrite Law, Jackson is also a jazz pianist and composer, and winner of the 2006 National Jazz Award.   

Joanne Kee

Joanne has significant industry experience as a Producer, Artistic Director and GM and is committed to building capacity in an equitable and inclusive manner. Currently EP for Riverside’s National Theatre of Parramatta. Previous executive roles at The Song Company, Sydney Opera House, SIMA, Jazzgroove and Powerhouse Museum. She has initiated and delivered numerous projects through her own company which includes Sound Travellers and Editor of Jazz Australia.  

Alex Masso

Alex is a freelance drummer and co-leader of The Vampires, which has toured more than 20 times, released six albums including one shortlisted for an ARIA Award and the Australian Music Prize. He has been involved in committees for Jazzgroove Association, The NOW now, SIMA, the City of Sydney Live Music Taskforce, and worked as a music educator, advocate and event coordinator including at Wollongong Conservatorium of Music and Music Australia.

Andrew Collins

Andrew is a tuba player with an economics problem. He has mainly worked in public policy and government finance. His most recent role was with NSW Treasury where he worked as the Principal Economist responsible for the Goods and Services Tax (GST). Andrew’s financial modelling and work to support the NSW submission to the 2020 review of the GST, led to a $900 million boost in GST to NSW in 2020-21. 

Katy Tyrrell

Katy is a senior executive with experience working across the philanthropic, not for profit and for purpose sectors. Katy currently works for the National Justice Project and Melbourne Symphony Orchestra.  She is a Board Member for Regional Opportunities Australia and Curious Works. Katy also volunteers as a Primary School Ethics Teacher.  She has previously worked for The Balnaves Foundation, Philanthropy Australia, Australia Council for the Arts, Milk Crate Theatre, Darlinghurst Theatre and Sculpture by the Sea.  

Cara Anderson

Cara is currently the CEO of Limelight Magazine with a background in advocacy, engagement and strategic management in both corporate and not for profit roles, within global and regional organisations in New York, London and Australia. She has previously worked for Music Australia, Opera Australia, Version 1.0, Business Events Sydney and Thomson Reuters. She is passionate about making the arts accessible to everyone.


Amy Curl – Executive producer and CEO

Amy has worked in the Australian music industry for more than 20 years and loves bring people together through shared cultural experiences. She acts as a mentor and advisor for a number of in-bound and out-bound touring projects, and enjoys providing advice and services for self-managed artists.

Zoe Hauptmann – Program Director

Zoe Hauptmann is one of Australia’s most in-demand bassists, composer, musical director and artistic curator. Passionate about addressing the gender imbalance in the music industry, Zoe has actively sought to bring change for the last 17 years in her role. In 2018 she was awarded the Creative Leadership Award for ‘Excellence in Creative Programming’ at the inaugural Australian Women In Music Awards.

Reuben White – Marketing Manager

Reuben has gained valuable experience in the commercial music industry in artist management at Chugg Music from 2018-2020. Passionate about jazz and highly skilled in logistics, digital marketing, and project management, Reuben enjoys sharing his knowledge of releasing music, distribution, and touring – so get in touch!

Sue Spence – Development Manager

An experienced arts manager with a successful track record in project management and arts administration. Sue has extensive experience in the music and performing arts sectors, with strong networks established both nationally and globally. As Director, Suspence Management, Sue has represented and toured many of Australia’s leading contemporary jazz musicians nationally and internationally.

Chris Rhule & Emma Collison – Publicists

Green Peas for Breakfast – Graphic Designer