What’s on


Jazz: NOW

Intimacy | Energy | Colours
July 16 – 23


Freedman Fellowship Awards


Avishai Cohen Trio | Oct 18


Regional Tours

Taking jazz on the road


Microfiche Tour

“music filled with light” –  The Music Trust

Coming Soon


Sydney Intl Women's Jazz Festival

Turns 11 This November


Ruby's Outdoor Music Club

Hot jazz under the stars


Orange Winter Jazz Festival

Contemporary jazz in a regional winter wonderland returns in 2023


Sydney Con Jazz Festival

Take yourself on a musical adventure. Returning 2023



Young Women's Jazz Workshop


Sonic Futures


Cool for School


Emerging Composers' Mentorship


Artist resources



Contact us


About SIMA


Staff + Committee


Previous productions


Covid Safe Plan

Support Us


Donate to SIMA


Become a member

Help us guarantee the future of jazz in Australia by giving a tax-deductible gift to SIMA.

The Freedman
Fellowship Awards

The Freedman Fellowships reveal the cutting edge of Jazz & Classical music in Australia today.

Freedman Fellowships_Website Image

One of the most prestigious career-defining awards offered to musicians.

Beginning with a nationwide search for Australia’s best jazz & classical musicians, The Freedman nominees are selected by nine nominators, comprised of distinguished musicians, composers, or managers from across each state and territory.

The three finalists are selected to compete live in concert for the chance to become the next Freedman Fellow and receive the career-changing $20,000 cash prize, empowering them to undertake an innovative proposed creative project.

Since its inception, the awards have enhanced the careers of more than forty artists, and the fellows a truely who’s who of the Australian jazz & classical music.

Freedman Classical – Finale Concert

Sydney Opera House Bennelong Point, Sydney, NSW

After a nation-wide search for the most creative classical instrumentalist 35 years and under, three finalists compete live in concert for the title of the 2022 Freedman Classical Fellowship

Jazz Fellows

A brilliantly diverse set of musicians from the brilliantly diverse world of Australian jazz

Dr Dick Letts, Director of The Music Trust

2021 Hilary Geddes, Guitar
2020 Helen Svoboda, Bass
2019 Novak Manojlovic, piano
2018 Nick Garbett, Trumpet
2017 Emma Stephenson, piano
2016 James McLean, drums
2015 Tal Cohen, piano
2014 Aaron Choulai, piano
2013 Marc Hannaford, piano
2012 Christopher Hale, bass guitar
2011 Matt Keegan, saxophone
2010 Ben Hauptmann, guitar
2009 & 2008 No award
2007 Kristin Berardi, vocals
2006 Julien Wilson, saxophone
2005 Matt McMahon, piano
2004 James Muller, guitar
2003 Andrew Robson, saxophone
2002 Phil Slater, trumpet
2001 Andrea Keller, piano

Classical Fellows

Classical music is a vital, pulsing and progressive art-form, thriving in the hands of these fierce young trail-blazers”

Sonja Lifschitz, pianist

 2021 Kyla Matsuura-Miller, Violin
2020 Richard Narroway, Cello
2019 Rohan Dasika, Double Bass
2018 Oliver Shermacher, Clarinet
2017 Matthew Kneale, bassoon
2016 Stefanie Farrands, viola
2015 Aviva Endean, clarinet
2014 Peter de Jager, piano
2013 Lina Andonovska, flute
2012 Ashley William Smith, clarinet
2011 Eugene Ughetti, percussion
2010 Kristian Winther, violin
2009 & 2008 No award
2007 Timothy Constable, percussion
2006 Joseph Tawadros, oud
2005 Claire Edwardes, percussion
2004 Geoffrey Morris, guitar
2003 Tamara Anna Cislowska, piano
2003 William Barton, didgerido
2002 Karin Schaupp, guitar
2001 Genevieve Lacey, recorder

The History of the Fellowships

The Freedman Music Fellowships were conceived by Laurence Freedman, The Freedman Foundation and Dr Richard Letts AM. First awarded in 2001, the Fellowships are among the most prestigious offered to Australian musicians.

The Freedman Foundation is a philanthropic foundation chaired by Laurence Freedman, which assists young Australians in music and visual arts, as well as providing support to medical and scientific programs. Laurence and Kathy Freedman were made Members of the Order of Australia for service to the community, to medical research, the arts, and to business and investment in Australia. The Fellowships are managed by The Music Trust and administered by the Sydney Improvised Music Association.

Visit Dr Richard Letts website The Music Trust.