jazz and improvised music


 

GIGS - ARCHIVE
September 2017

Sat 9 September Freedman Classical Fellowship Concert
Sun 17 September ACT Young Women's Jazz Workshops 2017 Showcase
Wed 20 September NSW Young Women's Jazz Workshops 2017 Showcase

June-August 2017
Winter Jazz

Sat 3 June Bill Frisell at York Theatre
Sat 10 June Satoko Fujii & Natsuki Tamura with Sirens Big Band, Fukushima Suite (JP/AU)
Sat 17 June Jeremy Rose, Within and Without Album Launch and Phil Stack
Sat 24 June Tina Harrod and Neutral Swine
Sat 1 July The Pratt Price Collective and Ta Go Lak
Sat 8 July Judy Bailey Trio and Jane Irving/Kevin Hailey (US/AU)
Sat 15 July Sandy Evans' RockPoolMirror Album Launch
Sat 22 July Trigger: Thomas Avgenicos and Lauren White/Stephanie Russell
Sat 29 July Far Beyond and Victor Valdes
Sat 5 August Alister Spence Trio, Not Everything But Enough Album Launch and Crossover
Sat 12 August Way Out West and Paul Mason
Sat 19 August 15th Anniversary Young Women's Jazz Workshops Alumni Concert
Sat 19 August Chris Cody Coalition and Steve Hunter
Thu 24 August Jazz is Dead! feat. Matilda Abraham, Coast and HIT!
Sat 26 August Freedman New Jazz: Christopher Hale and Minyoung Woo, Ritual Diamonds

May 2017

Wed 31 May Donny McCaslin Group at The Basement - Vivid Music

12-14 May 2017
Berry Jazz

Fri 12 May Steve Hunter Quartet
Sat 13 May Young Berry Jazz Workshop and Performance
Sat 13 May Queen Porter Stomp
Sat 13 May Great Scott! The Music of Raymond Scott
Sun 14 May Billie, Ella and Louis (Tricia Evy and Dan Barnett)

March 2017

Sat 18 March Freedman New Jazz Series: The Three Seas @ A.N. Maritime Museum

December 2016 - February 2017
SUMMER JAZZ

Sat 3 December The catholics with special support by Chris Cody @ Foundry 616
Sat 10 December Andrew Robson's Child Ballads Album launch with special support by Bree van Reyk & Veronique Serret
Sat 17 December The Cope Street Parade Album Launch with special support by Sikkim Rex
Sat 14 January Michael Avgenicos with special support by Zela Margossian
Sat 21 January Great Scott! The Music of Raymond Scott with special support by Peter Dasent
Sat 28 January FinnLand with special support by Gerard Masters
Sat 4 February Mike Nock & Laurence Pike with special support by Alon Ilsar & Sandy Evans
Sat 11 February Phillip Johnston Page of Madness Suite with special support by Gary Daley & Paul Cutlan
Sat 18 February Divergence Jazz Orchestra featuring Miroslav Bukovsky with special support by Loretta Palmeiro & Andrew Scott
Sat 25 February Phil Slater Quintet with special support by James McLean

Thu 23 February Jazz is Dead: Oliver Thorpe, Scoredatura, Aka Baz @ Venue 505   

November 2016
sydney international women's jazz festival

Wed 2 Nov Melissa Aldana Trio (CHILE/US)
Thu 3 Nov Ingrid and Christine Jensen (CAN/US) with the Mike Nock Trio
Fri 4 Nov Sydney Women’s Jazz Collective with special guests Ingrid and Christine Jensen
Sat 5 Nov Queen Porter Stomp
Sat 5 Nov Tricia Evy Trio (FR)
Sun 6 Nov Shannon Barnett Quartet (GER/AUS)
Mon 7 Nov Sydney Women’s Jazz Collective with special guests Ingrid and Christine Jensen
Tue 8 Nov That Red Head
Wed 9 Nov Microfiche
Thu 10 Nov Festival Band Night: Crossover, Sorcha Albuquerque Trio and Pheno
Fri 11 Nov Tara Tiba Sextet (IRAN/AUS)
Sat 12 Nov Queen Porter Stomp
Sat 12 Nov Jazz at the Powerhouse: Girls in the Band, Talk, Instrument Tour, Concert
Sat 12 Nov Hieronymus Trio featuring Gian Slater
Sat 12 Nov Gian Slater, Barney McAll & Simon Barker
Sun 13 Nov Festival Fair Day

October 2016

 Wed 19 Oct  Sean Foran 'Frame of Reference" Album Launch - F616  

September 2016


Sun 18 Sept Young Women's Jazz Workshops SHOWCASE - ACT (@ The Street Theatre)
Wed 21 Sept Young Women's Jazz Workshops SHOWCASE - NSW (@ Music Cafe, The Con)


WINTER JAZZ 2016 - JUNE/July/August

  Monday 1 August Freedman Jazz 2016 @ Opera House (7.30pm)
 Saturday 6 August Julien Wilson Quintet (9pm)
Laurence Pike (8pm)
 Saturday 13 August Sanctuary (9pm)
Gary & James Daley (8pm)
 Saturday 20 August Jen Shyu & Simon Barker (9pm)
Aaron Flower and Brian Campeau (8pm)
  Friday 26 August Jazz is Dead @ Venue 505
Danaides/Carl Morgan/Project Collective Ska
 Saturday 27 August The Umbrellas Bravo Nino Rota (9pm)
Finding Nino Q&A (8pm)

 Saturday 9 July Mike Nock and Roger Manins Two Out Album Launch (9pm)
Martha Marlow (8pm)
 Saturday 16 July MUM (9pm)
Ben Hauptmann and Arne Hanna (8pm)
 Saturday 23 July Cloud Appreciation Day (9pm)
Mary Rapp (8pm)
 Saturday 30 July Mike Rivett's Digital Seed (9pm)
Matilda Abraham, Carl Morgan & Ben Vanderwal (8pm)

 Friday 3 June Lionel Loueke and Vampires (9pm)
with special support by Miriam Lieberman (8pm)
 Thursday 9 June Stu Hunter: the migration
 Saturday 18 June TRIGGER: Melissa Mony Quartet (9pm)
Matt McMahon (8pm)
 Saturday 25 June Sandy Evan's Kapture (9pm)
Tony Gorman and Bobby Singh (8pm)

Berry Jazz - 7/8 May 2016

Saturday 7 May Children's Second-Line Workshop & Parade (1pm - 2pm)
Saturday 7 May The Glorious Sousaphonics (2:30pm - 3:30pm) 
Saturday 7 May Ellen Kirkwood/Aaron Flower Duo (4:15pm - 5pm) 
Saturday 7 May  Mister Ott (8:30pm - 10:30pm) 
Sunday 8 May   Finnland feat. Emma Pask & Darren Percival (Midday - 3pm)  
         
May 2016
    
Wednesday 4 May Francesca Prihasti Quartet

April 2016

Wednesday 6 April Greening/Sutherland/Elphick Trio & The World According to James

MARCH 2016

Wednesday 9 March CHRIS CODY QUARTET
Saturday 5 March ZOE HAUPTMANN / THE UMBRELLA'S
Friday 11 March TEN PART INVENTION'S 30TH ANNIVERSARY SHOW
Saturday 12 March TINA HARROD QUARTET
Friday 18 March BEN WINKELMAN TRIO
Saturday 19 March MUTINY MUSIC

FEBRUARY 2016

Monday 1 February FEBRUARY JUMP UP - 8pm